Earthquake with magnitude of Mw 7.4 on date 23-05-2013 and time 19:19:04 (Italy) in region Tonga [Sea]

A magnitude Mw 7.4 earthquake occured in region: Tonga [Sea], on

  • 23-05-2013 17:19:04 (UTC)
  • 23-05-2013 19:19:04 (UTC +02:00) Italian time
  • 24-05-2013 06:19:04 (UTC +13:00) local time in the region of the earthquake (Pacific/Tongatapu)

and geographic coordinates (lat, lon) -23.02, -177.11 at 171 km depth.

The earthquake was located by: Sala Sismica INGV-Roma.

Search earthquakes: Any within 30 km radius

The values of hypocentral coordinates and magnitude may be revised at a later time as more information becomes available.

Municipalities within 20 km from the epicenter

No Italian municipalities within 20 km distance.

Municipalities with at least 50000 inhabitants

No Italian municipalities within 100 km from the epicenter with at least 50000 inhabitants.

Recent and historical Seismicity
Seismic hazard
Shakemap
Felt maps
Locations history
Type Magnitude Date and Time (UTC) Latitude Longitude Depth (km) Published time (UTC) Author Location ID
Rev 200 Mw 7.4 2013-05-23
17:19:04
-23.03 -177.11 171 2014-10-21
12:08:56
Sala Sismica INGV-Roma 3581891
Preferred location and magnitude until now.
Origin information

Origin

Field Value
Time (UTC) 2013-05-23 17:19:04
Latitude -23.03
Longitude -177.11
Depth (km) 171 (from location)
Evaluation mode of Origin manual
Evaluation status of Origin reviewed
Version 200 -> AGENDA-INGV
Event type earthquake
Origin ID 3581891

Uncertainty

Field Value
Preferred uncertainty description horizontal uncertainty
Semi-major axis of confidence ellipse (meter)
Semi-minor axis of confidence ellipse (meter)
Azimuth of major axis of confidence ellipse. Measured clockwise from South-North direction at epicenter (gradi)
Circular confidence region, given by single value of horizontal uncertainty (meter) 11000
Confidence level of the uncertainty (%) 68

Quality

Field Value
Largest azimuthal gap in station distribution as seen from epicenter (degree) 71
Number of associated phases, regardless of their use for origin computation 1
Number of defining phases 1
RMS of the travel time residuals of the arrivals used for the origin computation (sec)
Epicentral distance of station closest to the epicenter (degree)
Epicentral distance of station farthest from the epicenter (degree)
Number of stations at which the event was observed 0
Number of stations from which data was used for origin computation 0
Magnitude information

Mw:7.4

Field Value
Value 7.4
Uncertainty 0
Num. used stations
Type of magnitude Mw
Reference to an origin 3581891
Agency INGV
Autore Sala Sismica INGV-Roma
Time of creation (UTC) 2013-05-23 17:51:18
TDMT - Time Domain Moment Tensor
Focal Mechanism in the area
Download
Type Description Link
QuakeML - small Event, Origin, FocalMechanism Download
QuakeML - full Event, Origin, FocalMechanism, Amplitude, Arrival, Pick, Station Magnitude Download